Faith #oneword365

“Now faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen” Hebrews 11:1 (ESV)

I had been contemplating my One Word for the coming year.  I had a vague feeling that it should be faith, but no real reason to affirm faith as my one word.

This is until today, New Year’s Day. You see, I am an Anglican and today being Sunday, the service for today is a special service called the Bishop’s Eucharist. I also have a recurring role in my church as verger, which means I set in order the table for Eucharist (Communion, as it is known to some). I look after the little details as it relates to the service. If you ever attend the Cathedral I serve, then the hymn numbers are there because I put them there.

With the Bishop’s Eucharist, it means that the Dean of Cathedral is not around. The Dean of the Cathedral is the Priest who pastors the Cathedral congregation. The Bishop of the Diocese celebrates the Eucharist for New Year’s Day. It’s really that simple. The Bishop’s Eucharist.

God is my great Verger in that he looks after the little details of my life. The Bishop preached on the verse in Hebrews that says “faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen” (KJV). I don’t need a club up the side of my head to know that my year is to be centred on faith.

Join me as I journey in faith, going deeper, searching what God is up to.

My One Word for 2012 Faith Journey is going to be recounted on my personal blog: Han Kyoul’s Musings, which is separate from the Justice Journey. I fully expected some cross-over, but will try not to duplicate posts if it can be helped.

This post is part of the community at http://oneword365.com/. Check out the others who are making their One Word resolution for 2012.

About douglas

Doug is a lefty. Doug is a creative entrepreneur . He enjoys being a community activist, photographer and writer. View all posts by douglas

2 responses to “Faith #oneword365

Leave a Reply

